Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Home Club News Scene & Heard NUSS’ Virtual Annual General Meeting 2020

NUSS’ Virtual Annual General Meeting 2020

Our members experienced a very different Annual General Meeting (AGM) this year – about 140 members tuned in virtually in the evening of 28 September 2020 to observe the online proceedings.

With the exception of NUSS President Mr Eddie Lee, and Honorary Secretary Mr Edward Tay and Honorary Treasurer Mr Jeffrey Khoo, who were present at Kent Ridge Guild House’s Cluny function room, the remaining 13 Management Committee members attended the session virtually due to the health and safety reasons derived from the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Members were required to pre-register to attend this live webcast. A member is deemed to be present at the meeting if the member has appointed the Chairman of the meeting (NUSS President, Mr Eddie Lee) as the proxy to attend, speak and vote at the meeting. Questions pertaining to the resolutions in the Notice of AGM and Annual Report were submitted via email to NUSS prior to the AGM. One question was submitted, and members were able to view NUSS’ response uploaded onto the website.

The agenda included confirmation of the minutes of the last AGM (held on 26 April 2019), appointment of an auditor for the ensuing year, the other key agenda highlights were to receive the Financial Statements for the year ended on 31 December 2019 and election of eight members to the Management Committee (MC).

Honorary Treasurer Mr Jeffrey Khoo presented the Financial Statements for the year ending in 31 December 2019.

A total of 10 nominations for election into the MC was received by the closing date of 18 September 2020. Prior to the AGM, voting stations were opened at all three Guild Houses over the weekend for members to cast their votes for NUSS’ Management Committee for 2020/2021. Mr Eddie Lee congratulated and warmly welcomed the following eight elected members:

  1. Mohan Balagopal
  2. Daniel Chia Han Yong
  3. Ng Teck Wee
  4. Jeremy Seah Meng Hwee
  5. Sean Kuan Thye
  6. Soh Yi Da
  7. Edward Stanley Tay Wey Kok
  8. Tong Hsien-Hui

Mr Lee ended off the night by thanking all candidates who stood for election and extended his appreciation towards departing MC member, Mr Archie Ong Liang-Gay, for his contributions to the Society over the years.

Though the road ahead may be challenging during this unprecedented time, but with the dedication and wisdom of the MC, we are assured that NUSS will definitely navigate through the storm. Till then, we long for the day to be able to reconvene and bond over our annual AGM tradition – Teochew Mui supper.

Click here to view the Management Committee for 2020/2021.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular